FAQs - Frequently Asked Questions

Beyond
Gender
Agenda

Our goal is to anchor diversity and an inclusive work environment integrally in the DNA of listed and medium-sized companies. We want to ensure equal opportunities for individuals with disabilities, of any gender, age, cultural background or different sexual orientation and gender identity when filling management board positions and supervisory board mandates, thus bringing about a cultural change with the involvement of politics, society and business.

Through her strategy consultancy ALTERNATIVLOS, Vicky works with top executives and helps them grow their influence and positioning in order to take the next step on the career ladder. Through this experience (along with her longstanding career), she realized that there was not only a lack of access and opportunities for many female-identifying leaders, but for others that fall within various diversity dimensions. And with that, Vicky decided to not only create an initiative to break the “glass ceiling” that women face, but one that works on supporting all individuals who are part of communities that have been, and continue to be, overlooked, left out, and not given equitable opportunities in the business world.

We are fully committed to furthering diversity, equity, and inclusion until diversity in business and society is valued and all individuals are given equitable opportunities when companies are filling executive and supervisory board positions.

In Germany, gender is usually thought of when referring to diversity, but diversity goes well beyond gender—it is a full range of dimensions that includes, not only gender, but disability, generation, ethnicity, LGBT+, and more. At BGA, we are working to broaden how German companies, and society, defines and views diversity, so that it can truly become a valued and crucial part of our economy.

In the common German usage, inclusion has come to mean the integration of people with disabilities. However, it is much more than that. Inclusion is what makes real participation possible within a group or structure. More than simply diversity and numerical representation, inclusion involves authentic and empowered participation and a true sense of belonging.

Diversity management is the endeavor to utilize the diversity of people for the competitiveness and creativity of the entire company and to prevent discrimination against underrepresented groups.

Not at all. We believe that it will take countless companies, organizations, and individuals working together to create a more diverse and inclusive economy, and so the more initiatives and networks there are committed to diversity and equal opportunities, the better. We are open and committed to cooperation and are happy to make our contribution through networking and joint activities to make Germany more diverse and inclusive.

BeyondGenderAgenda is an initiative for diversity and inclusion and advocates for equal opportunities for all managers and top executive positions. And as a digital initiative, we offer our platform, together with our community, to promote diversity and inclusion in a way that attracts public attention, cultivates meaningful dialogue, uplifts innovative ideas, and as a result, bring about cultural change.

BeyondGenderAgenda believes diversity and inclusion should be on the agenda of the German economy and wants to anchor them integrally in the DNA of companies and through positive examples, resources, and suggestions on how equal opportunities and participation can be successfully implemented in day-to-day business, we hope that companies come to create changes on their own. But if all efforts do not lead to the desired cultural change in business, politics and society, then we do support quotas as methods for change. Our advisory board and ambassadors may have differing opinions when it comes to quotas and at BGA we welcome varying ideas and opinions when it comes to how we can create change and further D&I.

BeyondGenderAgenda is an exclusively digital initiative, therefore we do not hold personal meetups. However, we have an active and growing digital community so please feel free to use all digital opportunities to exchange ideas comments, ratings, articles, videos or podcasts with us and our community.

Anyone can join our initiative and community simply by personally advocating for diversity and inclusion. We invite anyone who is passionate about this work to campaign for our topics on your own channels and share content from BeyondGenderAgenda channels, where you can also interact with our posts, videos and podcasts. If you would like to get involved in a more formal role, you can also initiate a partnership with BeyondGenderAgenda through your company. Here to inquire a strategic partnership.

We also offer ambassador membership for private individuals. This form of membership also enables private individuals to get involved on behalf of BeyondGenderAgenda for diversity, inclusion and equal opportunities.

We expect our partner companies to be committed to diversity and inclusion and to be seriously and credibly working to promote the topic within their own organization and in public. If you would like to become a partner of BeyondGenderAgenda with your company, send us a Here you can inquire a strategic partnership.

Our advisory board members act as ambassadors for BGA and for the topic of DE&I, both internally (within their own company) and externally in public. They also play a great role in informing our work and connecting to some of Germany’s largest companies, so that we can create change. Our advisory board members are actively committed to diversity and inclusion and thus contribute individually, and through their partner companies, to cultural change within politics, society, and the economy.

We are very purposeful when it comes to selecting our advisory board members and take a variety of qualifications into consideration when inviting individuals to join. So BGA will reach out directly to perspective boad members and invite them to a personal exchange. If both the individual addressed and the company behind them are interested in promoting diversity and inclusion and supporting BGA's mission, a new and impactful partnership is created and they will join our board. Companies alone can also become partners of BeyondGenderAgenda without having an individual staff member on our board. Here you can inquire a strategic partnership.

Thema 2

Text

FAQs - Häufige Fragen

Beyond
Gender
Agenda

Unser Ziel ist es, Diversität und ein inklusives Arbeitsumfeld integral in der DNA börsennotierter und mittelständischer Unternehmen zu verankern. Wir wollen die Chancengleichheit von Führungskräften mit Behinderung, anderen Geschlechts, Alters, kultureller Herkunft, sexueller Orientierung sowie Geschlechtsidentität bei der Besetzung von Vorstandsposten und Aufsichtsratsmandaten sicherstellen und so einen grundlegenden Kulturwandel unter Einbindung von Politik, Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft herbeiführen.

Ausschlaggebend für die Gründung von BeyondGenderAgenda war Vicky‘s Arbeit mit ihren überwiegend weiblichen Kundinnen bei ihrer Strategieberatung ALTERNATIVLOS. Sie berät dort Top-Führungskräfte zu Personal Branding, also wie sie mit ihrer Expertise, Themen und Positionierung sichtbarer im relevanten Umfeld werden, um so den nächsten Schritt auf der Karriereleiter zu machen. Ein ganz aktuelles Thema, das insbesondere bei Frauen aufgrund der sogenannten gläsernen Decke sehr relevant ist. Da Frauen zwar ein wesentlicher Teil der Zielgruppe sind, für die es heute immer noch keine Chancengleichheit bei der Besetzung von Top-Führungspositionen gibt, aber eben nicht den gesamten Bereich von Vielfalt abdecken, hat Vicky sich entschieden, sich für alle Betroffenen gleichermaßen einzusetzen. Daraus ist BeyondGenderAgenda, die Initiative für Diversität und Inklusion entstanden.

Wir engagieren uns so lange bis Chancengleichheit bei der Besetzung von Vorstandspositionen und Aufsichtsratsmandaten sichergestellt ist und Vielfalt gesellschaftlich akzeptiert und geschätzt wird.

Diversität ist weit mehr als nur Gender Diversity und geht über das reine Thema Mann Frau deutlich hinaus. Diversität ist die gesamte Bandbreite von Vielfalt. Bei BeyondGenderAgenda fokussieren wir uns auf die Chapter: Disability, Gender, Generation, Ethnicity und LGBT+.

Inklusion bedeutet nicht, wie im deutschen Sprachgebrauch üblich, die Integration von Menschen mit Behinderung. Aus der Definition der Soziologie kommend, ist Inklusion das Gegenteil von Exklusion und macht den wertschätzenden Umgang mit Diversität sowie echte Teilhabe erst möglich.

Diversity Management ist das Bestreben, die Vielfalt der Menschen für die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und Kreativität des gesamten Unternehmens zu nutzen und Diskriminierung unterrepräsentierter Gruppen zu verhindern.

Nein, Konkurrenzdenken ist die falsche Herangehensweise. Desto mehr Initiativen und Netzwerke sich für Vielfalt und Chancengleichheit einsetzen, umso besser ist es. Wir sind offen für Kooperationen jeglicher Art und leisten gerne unseren Beitrag durch Vernetzung und gemeinsamen Aktionen dazu, Deutschland diverser und inklusiver zu machen.

BeyondGenderAgenda ist kein Netzwerk, sondern tritt als Initiative für Diversität und Inklusion für die Chancengleichheit aller Führungskräfte ein. Wir sind eine digitale Initiative und bieten die Plattform, gemeinsam mit unserer Community die Themen Diversität und Inklusion aufmerksamkeitsstark in der Öffentlichkeit voranzutreiben und so einen Kulturwandel herbeizuführen.

BeyondGenderAgenda setzt Diversität und Inklusion auf die Agenda der deutschen Wirtschaft und will diese integral in der DNA von Unternehmen verankern. Hierzu bieten wir viel Aufklärung, Positivbeispiele und geben Anregungen, wie Chancengleichheit und Teilhabe im Unternehmensalltag erfolgreich umgesetzt werden können. Wenn aber sämtliche Bemühungen mittelfristig nicht zu dem angestrebten Kulturwandel in Wirtschaft, Politik und Gesellschaft führen, dann ist die temporäre Quote das Mittel der Wahl. Unsere BeirätInnen und BotschafterInnen können durchaus anderer Meinung sein. Vielfalt, auch in der Meinungsäußerung, ist bei BGA ausdrücklich erwünscht.

BeyondGenderAgenda ist eine ausschließlich digitale Initiative. Daher veranstalten wir keine persönlichen Meetups. Nutzt aber gerne alle digitalen Möglichkeiten zum Austausch mit uns, wie Kommentare, Bewertungen und das Teilen von Beiträgen, Videos oder Podcasts.

Jeder kann sich unserer Initiative anschließen und sich dadurch persönlich für Diversität und Inklusion einsetzen. Wie das geht? Du kannst dich z.B. auf deinen eigenen Kanälen für unsere Themen stark machen und Inhalte von BeyondGenderAgenda teilen, oder du kommentierst oder bewertest unsere Posts, Videos und Podcasts. Darüber hinaus kannst du in deinem Unternehmen eine Partnerschaft mit BeyondGenderAgenda anregen. Hier geht’s zur Bewerbung.

Von unseren Partnerunternehmen erwarten wir, dass sie sich ernsthaft und glaubwürdig mit Diversität und Inklusion auseinandersetzen und das Thema innerhalb des Unternehmens sowie in der Öffentlichkeit vorantreiben. Ihr möchtet mit Eurem Unternehmen ein Partner von BeyondGenderAgenda werden? Hier geht’s zur Partnerschaftsanfrage.

Unsere Beirätinnen und Beiräte haben eine Botschafterrolle, sowohl nach innen im eigenen Unternehmen als auch nach außen in der Öffentlichkeit. Sie setzen sich aktiv für Diversität und Inklusion ein und tragen damit individuell zum Kulturwandel von Politik, Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft bei.

Potenziell geeignete BeirätInnnen werden von uns direkt angesprochen und zum persönlichen Austausch eingeladen. Wenn dann sowohl die angesprochene Person als auch das hinter ihr stehende Unternehmen Interesse haben für Diversität und Inklusion einzutreten und uns zu unterstützen, steht einem Beiratsmandat nichts mehr im Wege. Unternehmen können sich aber auch unabhängig von der Stellung eines Beirats als Partner von BeyondGenderAgenda engagieren. Hier geht’s zur Partnerschaftsanfrage.

Thema 2

Text