German Diversity Award 2021 presented to eleven winners

Düsseldorf, November 25, 2021 – The diversity initiative BeyondGenderAgenda announces the winners of the second German Diversity Award. This year, Germany’s most important diversity award honors individuals and companies for their outstanding commitment to diversity in eleven categories. The Honorary Award of BeyondGenderAgenda in 2021 goes to Werner Baumann, CEO of Bayer AG.

This year’s winners of the German Diversity Award were determined in a multi-stage selection process by an expert jury, public online voting and a big jury composed of representatives from business, society, science and politics.

The award was launched last year by Victoria Wagner, founder and CEO of BeyondGenderAgenda, and has already established itself as an important date in the calendars of the German economy in its second year: “I am very pleased that with the second edition of the German Diversity Award we have been able to significantly increase both the number of submissions and the quality of the nominations. After the sobering results of our diversity study German Diversity Monitor in September, it is now gratifying to be able to end this year by honoring outstanding diversity commitment.”

The Personality of the Year award goes to sociologist Prof. Dr. h.c. Jutta Allmendinger, Ph.D., whose public engagement and personal commitment to the Executive Positions Act II (FüPoG II) were convincing.

This year the title of Company of the Year goes to OTTO. Germany’s largest online retailer impressed the jury with its understanding of diversity as a corporate mission, its outstanding promotion of employee networks, and the OTTO Diversity Cube, which brings diversity to life via augmented reality.

This year’s BeyondGenderAgenda Honorary Award goes to Werner Baumann, who thus secures a place in the German Diversity Award Hall of Fame. With strong personal commitment, the Chairman of the Board of Management of Bayer AG has sustainably placed the topic of diversity on the global agenda of the chemical and pharmaceutical group and made it a top priority. “I am honored to receive the German Diversity Award. It is an award for our global #TeamBayer, which I accept on behalf of the company. The award encourages us on our path to systematically promote diversity at Bayer and thus also ensure our business success. Bayer is at the center of society – and that must also be reflected in a diverse workforce,” Baumann commented on his award.

Current information on the German Diversity Award 2021 can be found at: GermanDiversityAward.com All other winners and sponsors of the German Diversity Award 2021 can be found on the following page. Statements by all participants can be found in the attachment. Pictures are available under this LINK.

You can find the summary of the digital award ceremony from 25.11., 5 p.m. HERE.

 

Contact:

Beyond Gender Agenda GmbH
Kaiserswerther Straße 282
D-40474 Düsseldorf

Mobil: +49 175 5815 464
Nadine.Schulz@BeyondGenderAgenda.com
www.BeyondGenderAgenda.com

 

About BeyondGenderAgenda
BeyondGenderAgenda has set itself the goal of securing and expanding the international competitiveness of the German economy in the long term by integrating Diversity, Equity & Inclusion (DE&I) into the DNA of listed and medium-sized companies. Based on the clear connection between DE&I and business performance, equal opportunities of managers with disability, of different gender, age, cultural and social background, sexual orientation or gender identity in the composition of board positions and supervisory board mandates should be ensured and thus a change of culture involving politics, society and economy be brought about.

All winners by category:

Disability:
Natalie Dedreux
Activist and Expert on Down Syndrome

Ethnicity:
Kenza Ait Si Abbou
AI Expert and Author

Gender:
Laura Gersch
Member of the Board of Management Allianz Lebensversicherungs-AG at Allianz / Young Global Leader of the World Economic Forum

Generation:
Dagmar Hirche
Chairwoman of the Board of ‘Wege aus der Einsamkeit e.V.’, LinkedIn Top Voices DACH 2020

LGBT+:
Richard Lutz
CEO, Deutsche Bahn AG

Social Mobility
Joblinge e.V.
Initiative against the disadvantage of young people on the job market

Audience Award:
Tuğba Tekkal
Co-Founder von HÁWAR.help and GermanDream

Personality of the Year:
Prof. Dr. h.c. Jutta Allmendinger, Ph.D.
President of the Berlin Science Center for Social Research

Global Game Changer:
LinkedIn
Represented by Barbara Wittmann, Country Manager DACH

Company of the Year:
Otto GmbH & Co KG
Represented by Marc Opelt, Chairman of the Divisional Board OTTO and Divisional Board Marketing

Honorary Award:
Werner Baumann, CEO Bayer AG

 

All sponsors by category:  
Category: Head Sponsoring Sponsor: Publicis Groupe
Category: Disability Sponsor: RTL News
Category: Ethnicity Sponsor: MSL
Category: Gender Sponsor: Douglas
Category: Generation Sponsor: IKEA
Category: LGBT+ Sponsor: Roland Berger
Category: Social Mobility Sponsor: Deutsche Bahn
Category: Audience Award Sponsor: Philip Morris
Category: Personality of the Year Sponsor: Creditplus Bank
Category: Global Game Changer Sponsor: LIXIL
Category: Company of the Year Sponsor: Vodafone
Category: Honorary Award Sponsor: BeyondGenderAgenda

German Diversity Award 2021 an elf Preisträger:innen verliehen

Düsseldorf, 25. November 2021 – Die Diversitäts-Initiative BeyondGenderAgenda gibt die Gewinner:innen des zweiten German Diversity Award bekannt. Der bedeutendste deutsche Diversitätspreis zeichnet in diesem Jahr Persönlichkeiten und Unternehmen für ihr herausragendes Diversitätsengagement in elf Kategorien aus. Der Ehrenpreis von BeyondGenderAgenda geht in 2021 an Werner Baumann, CEO der Bayer AG.

In einem mehrstufigen Auswahlprozess durch eine Expertenjury, ein öffentliches Online-Voting sowie einer großen Jury aus Vertreter:innen aus Wirtschaft, Gesellschaft, Wissenschaft und Politik, wurden die diesjährigen Gewinnerinnen und Gewinner des German Diversity Award ermittelt.

Den Preis wurde im vergangenen Jahr von Victoria Wagner, Gründerin und CEO von BeyondGenderAgenda, ins Leben gerufen und hat sich bereits im zweiten Jahr zu einem bedeutenden Termin in den Kalendern der deutschen Wirtschaft etabliert: „Ich freue mich sehr, dass wir mit der zweiten Auflage des German Diversity Award sowohl die Anzahl der Einreichungen als auch die Qualität der Nominierungen noch einmal deutlich steigern konnten. Nach den ernüchternden Ergebnissen unserer Diversitätsstudie German Diversity Monitor im September, ist es jetzt zum Jahresende erfreulich herausragendes Diversitätsengagement auszeichnen zu dürfen.“

Die Auszeichnung als Personality of the Year geht an die Soziologin Prof. Dr. h.c. Jutta Allmendinger, Ph.D., die mit ihrem öffentlichen Engagement und ihrem persönlichen Einsatz für das Führungskräftepositionsgesetz II überzeugen konnte.

Den Titel Company of the Year darf in diesem Jahr OTTO mit nach Hause nehmen. Der größte deutsche Onlinehändler konnte mit seinem Verständnis von Diversität als unternehmerischem Auftrag, der herausragenden Förderung von Mitarbeitenden-Netzwerken, sowie dem OTTO Diversity Cube, der Vielfalt per Augmented Reality erlebbar macht, bei den Jurys punkten.

Der diesjährige Ehrenpreis von BeyondGenderAgenda geht an Werner Baumann, der sich damit einen Platz in der Hall of Fame des German Diversity Award sichert. Der Vorstandsvorsitzende der Bayer AG hat das Thema Vielfalt mit starkem persönlichem Einsatz nachhaltig auf die globale Agenda des Chemie- und Pharmakonzerns gesetzt und zur Chefsache gemacht. „Ich fühle mich geehrt, den German Diversity Award zu erhalten. Es ist eine Auszeichnung für unser weltweites #TeamBayer, die ich stellvertretend entgegennehme. Der Preis bestärkt uns auf dem Weg, die Vielfalt bei Bayer systematisch zu fördern und damit auch unseren Geschäftserfolg zu sichern. Bayer steht in der Mitte der Gesellschaft – und das muss sich auch in einer diversen Belegschaft spiegeln“, kommentiert Baumann seine Auszeichnung.

Aktuelle Informationen zum German Diversity Award 2021 finden Sie unter: GermanDiversityAward.com Alle weiteren Gewinner:innen und Sponsor:innen des German Diversity Award 2021 finden Sie auf der folgenden Seite. Statements aller Beteiligten entnehmen Sie bitte dem Anhang. Bildmaterial stellen wir Ihnen unter diesem LINK zur Verfügung.

Die Zusammenfassung der digitalen Verleihung finden Sie ab dem 25.11., 17 Uhr HIER.

 

Alle Gewinnerinnen und Gewinner nach Kategorien:

Disability:
Natalie Dedreux
Aktivistin und Expertin für Down-Syndrom

Ethnicity:                            
Kenza Ait Si Abbou
KI-Expertin und Autorin

Gender:                               
Laura Gersch
Vorständin Firmenkunden und Personal, Allianz Lebensversicherungs-AG / Young Global Leader des World Economic Forum

Generation:                        
Dagmar Hirche
Vorstandsvorsitzende bei Wege aus der Einsamkeit e.V., LinkedIn Top Voices DACH 2020

LGBT+:                               
Dr. Richard Lutz
Vorsitzender des Vorstands, Deutsche Bahn AG

Social Mobility                   
Joblinge e.V.
Initiative gegen Jugendarbeitslosigkeit

Audience Award:               
Tuğba Tekkal
Co-Founder von HÁWAR.help und GermanDream

Personality of the Year:    
Prof. Dr. h.c. Jutta Allmendinger, Ph.D.
Präsidentin Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin für Sozialforschung (WZB)

Global Game Changer:      
LinkedIn
Vertreten durch Barbara Wittmann, Country Manager DACH

Company of the Year:       
Otto GmbH & Co KG
Vertreten durch Marc Opelt,
Vorsitzender des Bereichsvorstands OTTO und Bereichsvorstand Marketing

Honorary Award:               
Werner Baumann,
CEO Bayer AG

 

Alle Sponsoren nach Kategorien:
Kategorie: Head Sponsoring Sponsor: Publicis Groupe

Kategorie: Disability Sponsor: RTL News

Kategorie: Ethnicity Sponsor: MSL

Kategorie: Gender Sponsor: Douglas

Kategorie: Generation Sponsor: IKEA

Kategorie: LGBT+ Sponsor: Roland Berger

Kategorie: Social Mobility Sponsor: Deutsche Bahn

Kategorie: Audience Award Sponsor: Philip Morris

Kategorie: Personality of the Year Sponsor: Creditplus Bank

Kategorie: Global Game Changer Sponsor: LIXIL

Kategorie: Company of the Year Sponsor: Vodafone

Kategorie: Honorary Award Sponsor: BeyondGenderAgenda