German Diversity Index

The German Diversity Index 2021 was published by BeyondGenderAgenda, under the scientific supervision of Prof. Dr. Susanne Schmidt, from the Chair of International Management at Otto von Guericke University.

The German Diversity Index reflects the transparency of the diversity commitment of the DAX 30 companies in their annual and sustainability reports of 2020.

The short-term aim of the index is to provide a comprehensive representation of the commitment to diversity in the company reports. In the medium-term, the commitment to diversity is to be intensified through the transparency and comparability among the companies.

THE RANKING IN DETAIL

Position Unternehmen Punktzahl
1 SAP 67,5
2 Allianz 64,7
3 BMW Group 62,3
4 Adidas 60,3
5 Munich Re 59,5
6 Deutsche Bank 58,7
7 Merck 58,7
8 Vonovia 58,2
9 Bayer 57,1
10 Deutsche Telekom 56,7

The German Diversity Index 2021 is headed by SAP with 67.5 out of 100 achievable points. Nevertheless, with almost two thirds of the possible number of points, there is still room for improvement. Allianz is closely behind with 64.7 points and BMW completes the top 3 with 62.3 points. 

13 of the DAX 30 companies achieved at least half of the possible 100 points. Close behind are 10 other companies with a score of 47-49. The current top 10 is therefore under strong competitive pressure for the future surveys. 

The average is 49 points and shows that rather poor results were achieved, especially in the lower third. The company with the lowest number of points did not even achieve a quarter of the possible number of points with 24.2 points.

VictoriaWagner

Victoria
Wagner

Founder & CEO BeyondGenderAgenda

“With the German Diversity Index, we want to motivate the companies from the DAX 30 to comprehensively communicate their commitment to diversity in their business and sustainability reports. This transparency increases the comparability among the companies and thus the pressure to change. To reflect the structure of our society in the economy, I would like the DAX 30 to have a much more pronounced commitment to diversity in the medium-term. As our leading companies, they set an example and have a corresponding responsibility.”


“The results of the individual categories show clear discrepancies: The requirement ‘holistic understanding of diversity’ is best met with an average of 79%. Four of the DAX 30 companies have shown that diversity is ‘an executive directive’ for them with full points in this category. There is a lot of catching up to do with the ‘definition of key performance indicators’.”

METHODOLGY

The index evaluation is based on three main categories, which correspond to the demands of the diversity study German Diversity Monitor 2020 by BeyondGenderAgenda: (1) A holistic understanding of diversity, (2) diversity is an executive directive, (3) defining key performance indicators. Each category is weighted equally into the index calculation.

(1) Holistic understanding of diversity:
In this category, the company’s communication is analysed regarding the following diversity dimensions represented in the annual and sustainability report: gender, age, disabilities, cultural origin, sexual orientation and gender identity as well as social background. Above all, companies with a holistic understanding of diversity that communicate several categories of diversity in their annual or sustainability report are acknowledged.
(2) Diversity is an executive directive:
The focus here is on the letter of the Board of Management to the shareholders. Points are awarded for addressing diversity and for using gender-sensitive language. In addition, points are granted if the management dedicates a separate section to the topic of diversity in the annual report and thus clarifies its importance within the company.
(3) Defining key performance indicators:
In this category, the information on current and planned diversity in the board and the first two management levels below the board is assessed. For the present diversity, the existing diversity characteristics are evaluated at each of these management levels. Points are awarded for the intended diversity if the target quota is specified and is greater than the current quota.
If the annual and/or sustainability reports did not provide sufficient information on the index categories, the companies were contacted. This year, as an exception, they had the opportunity to submit missing information with corresponding evidence. 16 of the 30 DAX companies contacted have made use of this option.
This exception will no longer apply as of next year, as the objectives for the index are now known with the first publication and companies can adjust their publications accordingly for the financial year 2021.

German Diversity Index

Der German Diversity Index 2021 wurde von BeyondGenderAgenda, unter der  wissenschaftlichen Begleitung von Prof. Dr. Susanne Schmidt, vom Lehrstuhl für Internationales Management an der Otto-von-Guericke-Universität, veröffentlicht.
Der German Diversity Index spiegelt die Transparenz des Diversitätsengagements der DAX 30-Unternehmen in ihren Geschäfts- und Nachhaltigkeitsberichten 2020 wider.

Durch den Index soll kurzfristig eine umfassende Darstellung des Diversitätsengagements in den Unternehmensberichten erreicht werden. Mittelfristig soll durch die gegebene Transparenz und Vergleichbarkeit zwischen den Unternehmen das Diversitätsengagement intensiviert werden.

DAS RANKING IM DETAIL

Position Unternehmen Punktzahl
1 SAP 67,5
2 Allianz 64,7
3 BMW Group 62,3
4 Adidas 60,3
5 Munich Re 59,5
6 Deutsche Bank 58,7
7 Merck 58,7
8 Vonovia 58,2
9 Bayer 57,1
10 Deutsche Telekom 56,7

Der German Diversity Index 2021 wird von SAP mit 67,5 von 100 erreichbaren Punkten angeführt. Dennoch ist auch hier mit knapp zwei Dritteln der möglichen Punktzahl noch deutlich Luft nach oben. Die Allianz liegt dicht dahinter mit 64,7 Punkten und BMW vervollständigt die Top 3 mit 62,3 erzielten Punkten.

13 der DAX 30-Unternehmen haben mindestens die Hälfte der möglichen 100 Punkte erreicht. Dicht dahinter liegen 10 weitere Unternehmen mit einem Score von 47-49. Die aktuellen Top 10 stehen somit für die kommenden Erhebungen unter starkem Konkurrenzdruck.

Der Durchschnitt liegt bei 49 Punkten und zeigt, dass gerade im unteren Drittel noch sehr schwache Ergebnisse erzielt wurden. Das Unternehmen mit der niedrigsten Punktzahl hat mit 24,2 Punkten nicht mal ein Viertel der möglichen Punktzahl erreicht.

VictoriaWagner

Victoria
Wagner

Gründerin & CEO BeyondGenderAgenda

Mit dem German Diversity Index möchten wir die Unternehmen aus dem DAX 30 dazu motivieren, ihr Diversitätsengagement in Geschäfts- und Nachhaltigkeitsberichten umfassend zu kommunizieren. Diese Transparenz erhöht die Vergleichbarkeit unter den Unternehmen und dadurch den  Veränderungsdruck. Um die Struktur unserer Gesellschaft auch in der Wirtschaft abzubilden, wünsche ich mir mittelfristig vom DAX 30 ein deutlich ausgeprägteres  Diversitätsengagement. Als unsere führenden Unternehmen
haben sie eine Vorbildrolle und entsprechende Verantwortung.
Prof. Dr. SusanneSchmidt

Prof. Dr. Susanne
Schmidt

Professorin für Internationales Management, Otto-von-Guericke Universität Magdeburg

Die Ergebnisse der einzelnen Kategorien zeigen klare Unterschiede:
Die Forderung „Ganzheitliches Diversitätsverständnis“ wird mit einem Punktedurchschnitt von 79% am besten erfüllt. Dass bei ihnen Diversität „Chef:innensache“ ist, haben vier der DAX 30-Unternehmen durch volle Punktzahl in dieser Kategorie gezeigt. Deutlichen Nachholbedarf gibt es bei der „Definition von Leistungskennzahlen.“

METHODIK

Die Indexberechnung basiert auf drei Hauptkategorien, die den Forderungen der Diversitätsstudie German Diversity Monitor 2020 des bedeutendsten Netzwerks für DE&I in der deutschen Wirtschaft, BeyondGenderAgenda, entsprechen. Jede Forderung geht gleichgewichtet in die  Indexberechnung ein.

(1) Ganzheitliches Diversitätsverständnis:
In dieser Kategorie wird die Kommunikation der Unternehmen hinsichtlich der nachfolgenden Diversitätsdimensionen im Geschäfts- und Nachhaltigkeitsbericht überprüft: Geschlecht, Alter, Behinderungen, Kulturelle Herkunft, Sexuelle Orientierung sowie Geschlechtsidentität und Soziale Herkunft. Dabei werden vor allem Unternehmen mit einem ganzheitlichen Diversitätsverständnis  gewürdigt, die mehrere Diversitätskategorien in ihrem Geschäfts- oder Nachhaltigkeitsbericht kommunizieren.

(2) Diversität ist Chef:innensache:
Hier steht der Brief des Vorstands an die Aktionär:innen im Mittelpunkt. Punkte werden für die Thematisierung von Diversität und für die Nutzung von gendergerechter Sprache vergeben. Darüber hinaus gibt es Punkte, wenn die Unternehmensführung dem Thema Diversität im Geschäftsbericht einen eigenen Abschnitt widmet und so dessen Bedeutung im Unternehmen verdeutlicht.

(3) Definition von Leistungskennzahlen:
In dieser Kategorie werden die Angaben zur aktuellen und geplanten Diversität im Vorstand und in den ersten zwei Führungsebenen unterhalb des Vorstandes bewertet. Für die aktuelle Diversität werden die bereits vorhandenen Diversitätsmerkmale auf jeder dieser Führungsebenen überprüft. Für die geplante Diversität gibt es Punkte, wenn die Zielquote angegeben und größer als die aktuelle Quote ist.

Sofern in den Geschäfts- und/oder Nachhaltigkeitsberichten zu den Indexkriterien keine ausreichenden Angaben enthalten waren, wurden die Unternehmen kontaktiert und hatten in diesem Jahr ausnahmsweise die Möglichkeit, fehlende Informationen mit entsprechenden Belegen nachzureichen. 16 Unternehmen der insgesamt 30 angeschriebenen DAX Unternehmen haben von dieser Möglichkeit Gebrauch gemacht.

Ab dem kommenden Jahr wird es diese Ausnahme nicht mehr geben, da die Ziele für den Index mit der ersten Veröffentlichung nun bekannt sind und die Unternehmen ihre  Publikationen zum Geschäftsjahr 2021 entsprechend anpassen können